2019 BC Cup p/b Cobotix: XCO Series Winners Declared

The results are in. The winners of the 2019 BC Cup XCO Series p/b Cobotix have been named after the conclusion of the series finale in Whistler this past weekend.

The 2019 BC Cup XCO Series p/b Cobotix consisted of five of the provinces top cross-country mountain bike races starting with a couple of races at Bear Mountain on March 30-31, the Coaster 50 (short course), the BC XCO Provincial Championships at Junkyard Dog, and the Whistler XCO Canada Cup.

Points are calculated from the results of each race and the rider with the most points at the end of the series is determined as the series winner. Riders need to have finished three out of the five races to be eligible for the BC Cup.

Cycling BC congratulates all the riders across all of the series’ races this season. With the results of the Whistler Canada Cup, the last and final BC Cup XCO race of the season, we have been able to establish the 2019 BC Cup XCO Series Winners. Winners will receive the BC Cup winner’s jersey and will be recognized at the Cycling BC Season Wrap-up Party later in the year.

2019 BC Cup XCO Series Winners

Category Name Team
Elite Men Marc-Andre Fortier Pivot Cycles – OTE
Elite Women Elissa Lok Elite Women
Junior Men Carter Woods Rocky Mountain Factory
Master 30-39 Men Ian Sherk Master 30-39 Men
Master 40-49 Men Chris McNeil Soul Sportif
Senior Amateur Men Rob Anthony Senior Amateur Men
U13 Men Kai Sargent Tripleshot
U13 Women Tayte Proulx-Royds U13 Women
U15 Men Cam McCallum Team Squamish
U15 Women Marin Lowe Team Squamish
U17 Expert Men Lief Rodgers Daryl Evans Racing
U17 Expert Women Eva Leikermoser Trail Bicycles Racing



Photos by: Scott Robarts Photography

Sp’akw’us 50 to host 2019 BC XCM Provincial Championships | Stomp Classic Cancelled

In light of the recent cancellation of the 2019 Stomp Classic Cross-country Marathon (XCM) mountain bike race on July 14 in Kamloops, Cycling BC will be moving the 2019 XCM Provincial Championships to the Sp’akw’us 50 on June 15 in Squamish.

Event organizers of the Stomp Classic made the difficult decision to cancel the 2019 edition of the event due to personal matters but have indicated that the Stomp Classic will return in 2020.  As the Stomp Classic was supposed to be both a BC Cup race and host of the 2019 BC XCM Provincial Championships, its cancellation at this point in the season has left Cycling BC to find a new host for the provincial championships.

Fortunately, the organizers of the Sp’akw’us Challenge, a 2-day Mountain Bike Stage Race, have stepped up big time to host the 2019 XCM Provincial Championships at the Sp’akw’us 50 on Saturday, June 15 – Day 1 of the 2-day event.

For those wanting more of a challenge beyond the BC Championships race or who just can’t get enough of Squamish, BC’s world-famous trails, the second day of racing offers a shorter, less technical 35km race course. While only the longer course will count towards the BC Championships, the two events combined, Sp’akw’us 50 (Saturday) and Sp’akw’us 35 (Sunday), make up the Sp’akw’us Challenge.

Cycling BC would like to thank the organizers of Sp’akw’us for hosting the 2019 XCM Provincial Championships on short notice and encourages everybody to sign up and register for the race.

2019 BC Provincial Championship Categories include:

Junior Men (17 and 18 years old)
Junior Women (17 and 18 years old)
Elite Men(riders with Elite:Elite licenses) AKA Pro-Elite
Elite Women (riders with Elite:Elite licenses) AKA Pro-Elite
Masters 30-39 women
Masters 30-39 men
Masters 40+ women
Masters 40-49 Men
Masters 50+ Men

A friendly reminder that only those with a valid 2019 UCI or Cycling BC Race Licence will qualify for the Provincial Championship categories.

Get your licence now.