Deceuninck-QuickStep ink new two-year deal with Specialized

American bike manufacturer Specialized announced on Monday that it has renewed its contract with the WorldTour team Deceuninck-QuickStep for another two years, supporting the team until at least the end of 2021. The team and its riders will also continue to provide feedback about the high-end bike brand’s performance in top-level racing to help further develop its bikes and equipment.

“We are very happy to announce that we have signed for two more years with Specialized,” team owner Patrick Lefevere said in a press release. “Deceuninck-QuickStep and Specialized have had a long and beautiful history together.”

Specialized has sponsored versions of Lefevere’s team for the last 11 years. The team, riding on Specialized bikes, has won the biggest races in professional cycling. Last year its riders secured a total of 73 victories, and this year, while it is only May, they have won 30 races, including Strade Bianche, Milan-San Remo, Paris-Roubaix and Flèche Wallonne.


“Having a company which listens to, embraces, and builds bikes and equipment to the needs of us and our riders is one of the keys to our success,” Lefevere said. “We have no doubt we are racing the best bikes in the world, and the support that we continually receive from them is unrivalled. They always take on board our thoughts and feedback and use it to develop equipment that is at the cutting edge of cycling technology. We look forward to enjoying many more memorable victories together!”

Scott Jackson, Specialized Road Sports Marketing Manager, added to the history behind the collaboration between Deceuninck-QuickStep and Specialized.

“We have been very honored to be partners with Deceuninck-Quick-Step and Patrick Lefevere for so many years,” he said. “Not only has the team achieved iconic victories on Specialized bikes, they have also been a key part of our development process for our bikes and equipment.  

You can

2019 BC Elite/Masters Road and Time Trial Champions Crowned

Vancouver, BC, May 27, 2019 – There were 206 racers from across the province that lined up this past weekend for the 2019 Cycling BC Elite and Masters Road and Time Trial Championships in Langley B.C. Both events were hosted by Escape Velocity in partnership with Brian Jessel BMW.


BC TT Championships photo by TLBVelo Photography


The weather was the defining factor to Saturday’s Time Trial with driving rain causing pooling water and debris along the River Road course east of Fort Langley. For the second year in a row, Kelowna resident and continental pro Jordan Cheyne (Elevate – KHS Pro Cycling) stormed to victory in the Elite Men’s race finishing the 40km course in 51:02, 1’14” ahead of his closest rival Justin Homewood (Langlois Brown Racing). In the Elite Women’s race, Isabella Bertold (InstaFund La Prima) completed the same distance in 1:01:26, only 16” ahead of her teammate Helena Coney.

The racers were welcomed by splendid sunshine for Sunday’s road race which took place on the same “Atomic Double” course used for the 2018 championship. This time, however, it seemed that the savviest of racers figured out how to make the challenging terrain work for them, with all races finishing either solo or two person breakaways. The Elite Men set a sizzling pace from the whistle with attacks flying as soon as the group exited the neutral zone. Less than half of the field completed the full 137km. Jordan Cheyne doubled up by taking the Elite Men’s title ahead of Glotman Simpson Cycling teammates Jackson Bocksnick and Amiel Flett-Brown in 2nd and 3rd respectfully.


BC Elite Women’s Road Race Championship Podium Photo by TLBVelo Photography


It was well worth the ferry ride for the Pauly family, with Ethan (TaG Cycling) holding on to the main field to get the U23 title while his older sister Brenna (Trek Red Truck Racing P/B Mosaic Homes) captured the Elite Women’s road race title. Esta Bovill and Michele Schaeffer of the InstaFund La Prima racing team finished 2nd and 3rd, rounding out a successful weekend for the team in their inaugural year.

Both championship races also doubled as stops along the road to awarding the BC Cup p/b Cobotix. Nigel Kinney holds a slender lead ahead of his Langlois Brown Racing teammate Pat Riddell in the Elite Men’s Series while Claire Cameron (Fluevog’s Crit Nasty) maintains a healthy lead ahead of the InstaFund La Prima women. Jesse Klassen (Independent) and Nichola Bendle (Mighty Cycling) lead the Cat 3 series for Men and Women respectively while Matt Usborne (Independent) has finally unseated Jeff Werner (Langlois Brown Racing) for the top spot in the Masters Men series.

Provincial Championship season continues in a few weeks with BMX, Cross-Country Marathon and Criterium championships occurring on June 15th at various locations. For more information, please visit


Images from the Brian Jessel BMW Elite & Masters Road/TT championships Courtesy of TLBvelo

Complete results for the 2019 BC Elite/Masters Road Provincial Championships

Complete BC Cup p/b Cobotix Road Series Standings

Reposted from @videoguy03 – “I have a …

Reposted from @videoguy03 – “I have a cycling reflector addiction thanks @hizokucycles.🚲”
Get 40% off for our Memorial weekend sale on Bike reflectors/Decals/Posters/T-shirts at until June 1st at midnight.
#cycling #cyclinglife #cycle #fixedgear #bike #Bicycle #reflector #reflective #PoisonApple #Snake #Bananas #ape #Gorilla #Rocket #Eyeball #FlyingEye #Gator #Crocodile #Beseen